Our Team

Dean of Waiapu – A new appointment to the role of Dean is yet to be made.

The Reverend Canon Precentor, Jenny Chalmers, current Vicar of St Andrew’s Taupo, will commence her appointment on Sunday 5 September 2021.

Amy Fleming, our Parish Administrator, is the friendly voice on the end of the phone. You can contact Amy on 06 835 8824 or 021 754 161, or office@napiercathedral.org.nz

Anthony Tattersall, our Director of Music, is in charge of anything and everything to do with the music in the Cathedral. Anthony can be contacted on 027 300 1163 or via the Parish Administrator.

Waiapu Cathedral church service


The Cathedral has two oversight bodies, the Chapter and the Vestry.

  • The Cathedral Chapter is concerned with the Diocesan and community-facing ministries.

  • The Vestry is responsible for the parish ministry and day-to-day running of the Cathedral.

2021 Vestry members

  • Alison Thomson (People’s Warden)
  • Kerryn Yule (Bishop’s Warden)
  • Christine Hickton
  • Christine Kerr
  • Dale Meredith (Chair of the fundraising committee)
  • Linda Harris
  • Pip Brooker